Identity Crisis

Bulla Ki Jana – Rabbi Shergill (pronounced Rub-bee for all you non-Punjabis. He has nothing to do with Jews!
Song basically sums up how I’m feeling these days. Have been shunted into my old non-travelling department of my company – MY CHEESE HAS BEEN MOVED! -( Must…break….out… in the meantime, a dude from Delhi releases a song in Pure Punjabi where he wrestles with the arguments of a long-gone dude called Bulle Shah

Bulla ki jaana main kaun x4
Bulla I know not who I am!

Na main moman vich maseetan
Na main vich kufar dian reetan
Na main pakan vich paleetan
Neither am I believer in a Mosque
Nor a pagan practising false rites
Nor am I the Pure amongst impure

Na main andar bed kitaban
Na main rehnda phaang sharaban
Na main rehnda mast kharaban
Neither am I in any Holy Books (Vedas)
Nor high on any drugs or alochol
Nor am I an idle delinquent

Na main shadi na ghamnaki
Na main vich paleetan pakeen
Na main aaabi na main khaki
Na main aatish na main paun
I am neither happy union nor lonely misery
Nor am I pure or impure
Nor am I water or earth
Nor am I fire or air

Bulla ki jana main kaun x4
Bulla! I know not who I am!

Na main arabi na lahori
Na main hindi shehar Nagauri
Na hindu na turk pashauri
I am neither an Arab or a Lahori (Pakistani)
Nor am I from the (Indian) town of Nagaur
Nor am I a Hindu or a Peshawari Turk

Na main bhet mazhab de paya
Na main aadam hawwa jaya
Na koi apna naam dharaya
I did not create any differences in faiths
Nor do I know of any Adam or Eve
I did not name myself

Avval aakhar aap nu jana
Na koi dooja hor pacchana
Mai ton na koi hor syana
I know only of the Self
and recognise no Other
There is nobody wiser than I

Bulla ki jaana main kaun x4
Bulla! I know not who I am!

Na main moosa na pharoah
Na main jagan na vich saun
Na main aatish na main paun
Na main rahnda vich Nadaun
Na main baitthan na vich bhaun
Neither am I Moses nor the Pharoah
Neither am I awake nor asleep
Neither am I am fire nor wind
Nor do I live in Nadaun
Neither am I at rest nor in a storm

Bulle shah kharha hai kaun?
Who is this Bulle Shah anyway?

Bulla ki jaana main kaun -4
oooooo…
Bulla ki jaana main kaun -4

BTW – I may be wrong about the order of the original Punjabi lyrics – the translations are accuarte.

Leave a Reply

